Saturday In My Neighborhood

4 May

My wife let me sleep in until around eight this morning and got me up to go to L.A. Fitness with her. That gave me a chance to try out my new fat-burning bar while I’m on the treadmill. You want to eat it on an empty stomach 15 minutes before you work out to get the maximum fat-burning results. Today was the first day that I’ve done it exactly right. Without it I would just be getting an aerobic workout on the treadmill. Pretty cool stuff if you ask me. Patents and everything.

Anyway, after a nice, hot shower my wife went to San Diego to see a family friend and I decided to check out some garage sales and let people know about my plans for a community garage sale in late September or early October. Right now I’m hearing from several people that October 5 is best because it’s right after payday. Sounds logical. I’ll put up a poll in a few weeks so we can vote.

Something else that makes sense is a neighborhood/community potluck 4-6 weeks before. I’ll start sending out emails sometime in the next few days. If you see me knock at your door or you meet me at a garage sale, please give me your contact information so I can add you to the list.

While visiting four garage sales I met some great people like Sondra who’s originally from England. She was having her last garage sale (along with some neighbors) to benefit breast cancer research. Whatever was left she was going to give to Goodwill. Sounds like it was the last one she’s going to do for a long while, maybe ever. Anyone else want to take up the mantle?

After talking for a little while with Mario I found out that he’s in life insurance and real estate and has an office near the 78. Jack and Jill have two kids and met when they were 15. Now they have a 15 yr old themselves. And yes, Jack and Jill are really their names.

Finally, Erika Sosa was in charge at the garage sale that she and her honey shared with their next door neighbors. They thought a potluck would be a good idea, too.

And I’m writing this while relaxing and watching the SyFy Channel show Defiance. Science fiction is a family tradition. So is enjoying the neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

Life Ministries

Teaching Ministry

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Pure Glory

The heavens are telling the glory of God; and the firmament proclaims His handiwork. Psalms 19:1

Yes You Learn

You Can Learn More Than You Imagine Or Believe

The Authentic Storytelling Project

Content marketing: Telling Meaningful Stories

Your Support Matters

Encouraging You Since 1963 - A Glimpse Of A Jesus Follower's Adventure

