Look Who’s In The Neighborhood

20 Apr

Today I visited some garage sales to see who else is interested in the community garage sale in late September or early October. I stayed within these boundaries – north of 78, west of Nordahl, south of El Norte Parkway, southeast(?) of Borden & east of Mulberry, also including the houses down Falcon which is west of Mulberry and branches off from Mission Road. I also included houses that are just on the other side of the street boundary, so for example I spoke with Sheldon and his wife who live ON El Norte Parkway, but who are technically north of the street.

I met some interesting people and found out that Vallecitos is having a community garage sale on May 18th. I had no idea. Two women told me about it and one of them, Isabel, gave me some pencils for my friend, Mary Carrillo of Point Loma, to take to Belize for the children of the village she will visit in September. Thanks, Isabel!

Mary visits Belize once or twice a year to be of service to the women and children of the village. I’ll post more about Mary Carrillo another time and include the name of the place.

While I was out I took photos of some green stuff I like and then I found a woman, Alice Olsen, who is the office manager of three[!] sites of Community Catalysts of California. I had never heard of them before, but they have been doing good work for over 30 years! The paragraphs below are from their website.

Who We Are

A Positive Catalyst For People With Disabilities

Community Catalysts of California provides services and advocacy resulting in employment, independent living and equality for individuals with disabilities. We have successfully provided services for thirty years with the fundamental goal of helping people with disabilities achieve a higher quality of life.

Empowering Our Military Veterans

Veterans Community Services, a division of Community Catalysts of California, supports Veteran’s and their families to gain increased independence and productivity as responsible members of their community. VCS provides coordinated case management services to obtain housing, access benefits, secure employment or advance education in the San Diego and Imperial County areas.

Strengthening Our Community

Our organization’s prevailing principle is strengthening our community through engagement and daily manifestation of our work in your neighborhood, work, and social environment. We support the belief that people with special needs are an integral part of community and encourage you to support our services in a manner that matches your strengths and resources. Our community partners are vital to our continued success.

Community Catalysts of California is a not for profit 501(c)(3), charitable organization.

Here’s the CCC website:
CommunityCatalystsCalifornia.org

They also help veterans! Here’s the CCVCS site:
Veterans Community Services – CCVCS.net

Alice Olsen was having a garage sale to benefit CCC. She had her neighbor, Cheryl, and two daughters and a couple grandkids helping out.

Below is a photo of their sign and some photos of trees I saw when I was out and about. I like trees and I like shade. No matter how you feel about trees, my guess is you like the shade they provide on a hot day.

Can you guess where I took these photos?2013-04-20 11.50.21

2013-04-20 11.18.19

2013-04-20 10.58.08

2013-04-20 10.57.00

2013-04-20 10.56.39

2013-04-20 10.56.24

2013-04-20 10.55.48

Leave a Reply

Life Ministries

Teaching Ministry

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Pure Glory

The heavens are telling the glory of God; and the firmament proclaims His handiwork. Psalms 19:1

Yes You Learn

You Can Learn More Than You Imagine Or Believe

The Authentic Storytelling Project

Content marketing: Telling Meaningful Stories

Your Support Matters

Encouraging You Since 1963 - A Glimpse Of A Jesus Follower's Adventure

